US/ICOMOS at the General Assembly Meeting in China

US/ICOMOS members recently attended the 15th ICOMOS General Assembly, held October 17-23, 2005 in Xi’an, China.

A highlight of the General Assembly was the announcement at the Plenary Session that Ann Webster Smith, US/ICOMOS Chair Emerita, was awarded the Gazzola Prize.  The Gazzola Prize was established in 1979 in memory of Piero Gazzola, one of the greatest defenders of the conservation and restoration of historic monuments and sites, and a founder of ICOMOS. The prize is awarded every three years at the General Assembly of ICOMOS to an individual or a group of people who have worked together and contributed with distinction to the aims and objectives of ICOMOS. The beneficiary must be a member of ICOMOS and is chosen by the Selection Committee, which itself elected by the Executive Committee of ICOMOS.

Click here for a report on the proceedings is available on the ICOMOS website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Previous Post
US/ICOMOS National Preservation Conference
Next Post
Ann Webster Smith Wins Gazzola Prize