US/ICOMOS 2018 Murtagh/Graham Prize- Call for Thesis Submissions

The United States National Committee of the International Council on Monuments and Sites (US/ICOMOS) annually awards the Murtagh/Graham Prize for outstanding student scholarship in the area of historic preservation technologies. The Prize was established on the occasion of the 50th Anniversary of the founding of US/ICOMOS in 2015 and to honor the contributions and leadership of 2015 Ann Webster Smith Award winners William R. Murtagh, Ph.D. and Roy Eugene Graham, FAIA to preservation education and cultural heritage stewardship. Initial funding support for this award has been provided by a generous grant from the National Center for Preservation Technology and Training (NCPTT) of the National Park Service.

1. Eligibility
This annual award invites universities that are institutional members of US/ICOMOS in good standing as of May 15, 2018, to submit one thesis or graduate capstone project for consideration. The award will acknowledge student scholarship that demonstrates awareness of previous approaches, recognizes recent developments, provides groundwork for future research and enriches the discipline locally and/or globally. Eligible theses or projects must have been completed (i.e. defended/approved) in calendar year 2017 on a topic related to preservation and conservation technology broadly construed, including traditional preservation and conservation practices and techniques and new technologies. Eligible programs will nominate and submit one thesis to their individual criteria.

2. Nomination and selection
Nominations are open to university/departments that are current US/ICOMOS member institutions. Nominated students are known as 2018 Murtagh/Graham Prize Finalists. Finalists will be featured on the US/ICOMOS website. The Murtagh/Graham Prize Committee includes a mix of academics and professionals.

3. Recognition
The winner receives a prize of $2500.00 with a portion of the first place prize money earmarked for travel to be honored at the US/ICOMOS Gala in early December. The runner- up will receive a cash award of $500. All Murtagh/Graham Prize Finalists will receive a one- year young professional membership and select papers will be featured on the US/ICOMOS website.
Submission requirements: All work must be submitted digitally in PDF format. It will be the responsibility of the university and finalist to ensure the finalist’s name and reference to the school or program is not part of the submission. Nominations will be submitted by a faculty or staff representative of the member institution. Submissions should be accompanied by contact information for the finalist as well as a 100-150- word biography that summarizes their education and interests. Submissions are due by May 15, 2018. Send to Professor James Reap, JD at and Professor Jeff Eley at
Results will be announced before October 1, 2018. For further information, please contact Murtagh/Graham Prize Committee co-chair, Professor James Reap at or Professor Jeff Eley at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Previous Post
Next Post
Call for Papers- Forward Together: A Culture-Nature Journey, Towards More Effective Conservation in a Changing World