Introducing Six New Trustees

World Heritage USA, the U.S. National Committee of the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS), is very pleased to introduce six new trustees, elected at our 2022 Annual Meeting on December, 12, 2022. Our new trustees (pictured above, clockwise from upper left) are:

Emily (Yoon Sung) Choi

Emily is a Historic Preservation Specialist in the Federal Permitting, Licensing and Assistance section of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP). Emily holds a B.A. from Cornell as well as a J.D. from Georgetown. Emily is an Associate Member of the ICOMOS International Scientific Committee on Legal, Administrative, and Financial Issues (ICLAFI), and a Member of the IEP Committee.

Athline Clark

Athline is the former National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s (NOAA) Superintendent for the Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument. She is currently serving in an advisory capacity to several community groups and NGOs in Hawaii and the Pacific to implement co-management and sustainability development initiatives. She was born and raised in Hawaii.

Claudia Guerra

Claudia is San Antonio’s first Cultural Historian, a position in the Office of Historic Preservation (OHP). Her work has aided in the creation of a new division in OHP, dedicated to living heritage in order to focus on sustainable development, socially inclusive practices, the protection and promotion of community character and cultural heritage, and the revitalization of traditional building crafts and trades.

Arleen Pabón-Charneco

Arleen holds a PhD from Northwestern University, as well as a JD, MArch and BED from the University of Puerto Rico. Since 1979 she has taught undergraduate and graduate courses at the University of Puerto Rico and Florida A&M University in the areas of architectural history, architectural theory and philosophy, architectural design, and historic preservation. In addition, Arleen twice served at Puerto Rico’s State Historic Preservation Officer.

Monica Rhodes

Monica, recipient of the 2022 Adele Chatfield-Taylor Rome Prize, is currently studying preservation and public engagement at the American Academy in Rome. Previously, Monica was a Loeb Fellow at Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design and led efforts at the National Trust for Historic Preservation and the National Park Foundation.

Helaine Silverman

Dr. Helaine Silverman specializes in archeology, ethnography, critical heritage studies, and archaeological heritage management. She is the long-term director of the Collaborative for Cultural Heritage Management and Policy (CHAMP) at the University of Illinois, which offers grad students the opportunity for a minor in Heritage Studies and in Museum Studies.

Reelected and Outgoing Trustees

Trustees William Bell, Tom Cassidy, and Wayne Donaldson were also elected for a second term and our current slate of officers was reelected. We would like to thank all of our current officers and trustees for their service!

We also recognize and thank for their service the following trustees who departed the board in 2022:

  • Caroline Cheung
  • Grant Gilmore III
  • Zoe Leung
  • Peyton Hall
  • Robert G. Stanton
  • Sheree Wen

Thank you all again for your work on behalf of World Heritage and the U.S. National Committee of ICOMOS.

Previous Post
Success for World Heritage Advocacy
Next Post
Redefining Public Space during the Russia-Ukraine War