Map of Sites

World Heritage Sites
in the USA

The U.S. is home to 23 World Heritage sites. These sites are cultural and natural treasures to the world. The United States was the first nation to propose a “World Heritage Trust” in 1965. Yellowstone National Park became the first World Heritage site in 1978. That same year Mesa Verde National Park (Colorado) and 10 other sites around the world also were listed as "World Heritage" sites.


The U.S. World Heritage Tentative List features cultural and natural sites of outstanding value to humanity. The Tentative List is intended to be the source of U.S. World Heritage nominations for approximately the next 10 years. It was updated with US/ICOMOS's help in 2017.


  • Brooklyn Bridge, New York
  • Central Park, New York
  • Chicago Early Skyscrapers
  • Civil Rights Movement Sites, Alabama
  • Dayton Aviation Sites, Ohio
  • Ellis Island, New Jersey and New York
  • Hopewell Ceremonial Earthworks, Ohio
  • Jefferson (Thomas) Buildings, Virginia (extension)
  • Moravian Bethlehem District, Pennsylvania
  • Mount Vernon, Virginia
  • Serpent Mound, Ohio
  • Wright (Frank Lloyd) Buildings


  • Big Bend National Park, Texas
  • Central California Marine Sanctuaries and Parks, California
  • Marianas Trench National Monument, U.S. Territory, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam
  • National Marine Sanctuary of American Samoa/Rose Atoll National Marine Monument
  • Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge, Georgia
  • Pacific Remote Islands National Monument, U.S. Territorial Waters
  • Petrified Forest National Park, Arizona
  • White Sands National Monument, New Mexico